*/ ?>

California Guidelines (Title 24)


California Climate Zones
The 2013 standards' requirements are based on 16 defined climate zones within the state. The requirements consist of three elements:
-Mandatory Requirements
-Prescriptive Compliance
-Performance Compliance
Climate zones
Performance Method:
This method uses approved compliance software to demonstrate compliance for the entire building based on trade-offs among various installed features.

2013 Approved Computer Compliance Programs
Prescriptive Method:
This method has specific criteria that must be met and is often considered too restrictive. The prescriptive maximum U-factor for all fenestration is 0.32. The precriptive maximum SHGC for most climates is 0.25. (See Table 150.1-A)
The weighted average of all fenestration cannot exceed 0.58.
Table 150.1-A table
Future Criteria:  
2016 Standards will go into effect on Jaunuary 1, 2017
California Energy Code
(Part 6 of Title 24)
California Building Code
(Part 2 of Title 24)
California Green Building Standards (CALGreen)
(Part 11 of Title 24)
image image image